Not recording ground time

MyActive AirSource (MyAAS) is the program used by AirSource members to record their flight time. Requires Microsoft Flight Simulator and (free) version of FSUIPC. MyAAS 2 is programmed by AS 201 Joe Hamilton, and is always being reviwed for new features.

Not recording ground time

Postby clipper759 » 11 Apr 2017 06:08

Past couple of flights, I've noticed after the PIREP is filed very little or no ground time is being recorded. I start recording at push back and end after engine shutdown at destination, so I am using ground time every flight. Running version 2.0.3001. All other parameters seem to record normally. Any ideas?

User avatar
clipper759
Student Pilot
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 07 Dec 2008 01:17
Location: [AirSource ID: AS 389] Phoenix, AZ USA
AirSource Pilot Number: 389

Re: Not recording ground time

Postby AS 2 Tom Little » 11 Apr 2017 10:49

Randy are you using FSX or X-plane? Also are you pulling up a saved flight from myAAS or starting new?

User avatar
AS 2 Tom Little
FAA [Administrator]
 
Posts: 2964
Joined: 23 Nov 2005 20:03
Location: [AirSource ID: AS 2] KMCO Orlando, Florida SKYPE:airsourceva
AirSource Pilot Number: 2

Re: Not recording ground time

Postby clipper759 » 12 Apr 2017 06:57

Hi Tom,

FS9, believe it or not. All the flights have been new flights, non stop.

User avatar
clipper759
Student Pilot
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 07 Dec 2008 01:17
Location: [AirSource ID: AS 389] Phoenix, AZ USA
AirSource Pilot Number: 389

Re: Not recording ground time

Postby AS 2 Tom Little » 12 Apr 2017 10:55

Add ons? What aircraft are you using? And is it happening at any airport? Wondering if it may be an add on airport causing this.

User avatar
AS 2 Tom Little
FAA [Administrator]
 
Posts: 2964
Joined: 23 Nov 2005 20:03
Location: [AirSource ID: AS 2] KMCO Orlando, Florida SKYPE:airsourceva
AirSource Pilot Number: 2

Re: Not recording ground time

Postby AS201 Joe » 12 Apr 2017 12:12

Hi Randy-

Definitely an odd one you have going on there. Doesn't help that there is the PANC-KCVG flight in the middle of your latest flights that looks like it recorded fine.

Does the ground time look correct throughout the flight? Just trying to pin down when it get's messed up.




There's no shame to flying FS9. I still use it too as my preferred simulator. :)

AS201 Joe
FAA [Administrator]
 
Posts: 727
Joined: 08 Oct 2011 23:54
Location: [AirSource ID: AS 201]
AirSource Pilot Number: 201

Re: Not recording ground time

Postby clipper759 » 16 Apr 2017 00:49

Sorry for the delay Gents,

Aircraft is the FS9 version of the PMDG 747 mostly. Although there is one flight recently in the Level D 767 that also shorted the ground time by about 20 minutes. The PANC-KCVG run you mention Joe is an interesting one, I thought I started AAS at pushback only to discover about an hour after departure it was not recording. I started it again at cruise and it recorded the rest of the flight normally. Hence the record time from PANC-KCVG. But based on the report it took me 37 minutes to taxi in and shutdown at KCVG, which it did not.

The airports are a mix. PANC-Aerosoft, KCVG-Imaginesim, PHNL-FSDreamteam, KLAX-Blueprint, KPHX is a freeware i don't recall. Active Sky Evolution for WX and the OS is Win 7 x64.

Just curious Joe, is the transition from ground to flight mode airspeed based? I taxi slow, as you would a heavy 747, and it's not uncommon due to my AI traffic volume to hold for takeoff awhile. During those holds I will set the parking brake again. Could these be a factor?


Randy

User avatar
clipper759
Student Pilot
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 07 Dec 2008 01:17
Location: [AirSource ID: AS 389] Phoenix, AZ USA
AirSource Pilot Number: 389

Re: Not recording ground time

Postby AS201 Joe » 16 Apr 2017 12:05

As a start, maybe double check that your FSUIPC is up to date. Maybe it got over-written by an addon.

As for the transition, myAAS2 is pretty basic here. It starts recording when you do "Start Flight" (no brakes checks, etc.) and ends when you do "End Flight". The transition from taxiing to flight just uses the FSUIPC Aircraft on Ground flag. myAAS2 wouldn't even notice taxi speed and brakes use.

AS201 Joe
FAA [Administrator]
 
Posts: 727
Joined: 08 Oct 2011 23:54
Location: [AirSource ID: AS 201]
AirSource Pilot Number: 201

Re: Not recording ground time

Postby clipper759 » 16 Apr 2017 22:50

OK Joe. Was running a registered copy of FSUIPC, version 3.999z9b. But for good measure I re-downloaded and reinstalled it. We'll see how it goes.

User avatar
clipper759
Student Pilot
 
Posts: 20
Joined: 07 Dec 2008 01:17
Location: [AirSource ID: AS 389] Phoenix, AZ USA
AirSource Pilot Number: 389


Return to MyActive AirSource

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron