Is it me???

General Discussions on anything! If you feel like chatting... hey post here!

Is it me???

Postby AS603 Murray Wheten » 07 Jan 2013 00:32

I hope you guys don't mind a little rant...

I have been simming for many years now. If I were to tell you how much I have spent and how much time I have put into this hobby, well, you would probably not believe me. Let's just say, I could have bought a "real" plane, and would have at least a PPL by now.

All that being said, I do not consider myself an expert. There is always more to learn. But, I do feel I am a good and knowledgeable sim pilot.

I just finished flying a "set" of 5 flights (5 legs) for "another VA" that I belong to (or did belong to - I resigned). 3 of these legs were flown in an area where the "safe min alt" was 14000 feet. I was flying a DC3 that has a service ceiling of 23000 feet. On one of the 3 flghts, I added a comment to the pirep that the 10000 foot alt for that flight was not enough (the alt and root is assigned by the VA). The flight was rejected with a comment from the Hub manager that a DC3 cannot be flown above 10000 feet. Since this VA also gives you the root to fly, I would have slammed into a mountain if I had flown it at 10000 feet. The thing is, the other 2 flights I flew in that area were also flown above 10000 feet. But since I did not "tell on myself" in the comment section, the flights were accepted.

There were also a few comments about taking off with "too mucn fuel"... at the 2nd and 4th flight. But, since these flights comprised a set of 5 legs (one after another in the same day) I could not understand how these comments made any sense.