Longer Flight Aircrafts

General Discussions on anything! If you feel like chatting... hey post here!

Longer Flight Aircrafts

Postby jaredg » 30 Jul 2012 03:29

Hi,

I'm fairly new to the website and flight simulating in general. So far, I have to say I love the fact of now "flying with a purpose" rather than the lame free flight that means nothing. Anyway, I would like to know of an aircraft capable of making the extremely long flights. Something over 10,000 nm. Does anyone know of an aircraft and website I can download an aircraft capable of making a flight this long?

The stock Boeing 747-400 has a maximum distance I believe of 7,800nm or so.

Yes, I understand it's a simulator and the best/only option might be to make a stop! But, if I could get some input that would be helpful!

Thanks!
jaredg

Re: Longer Flight Aircrafts

Postby kingsak » 31 Jul 2012 03:54

As you said, fuel stops would most likely be required.
I'm not an expert.
Another alternitive - shunned by me, and most simmers - is to click your
settings to where your fuel don't burn.
NOT at all realistic, and I have doubt's that a PIREP like that would be approved-
I wouldn't approve it!
You said your new, take your time and learn to do it the way that is most enjoyable
and comfortable for you.
A little advice, the more realistic = the more fun!
Good luck & Safe flights

B767-300ERF
B747-416
B787-8
A380-800
Just a couple clues :o but don't forget to check your rwy. clearance length or you'll be in the grass!
BTW- Welcome Aboard!
kingsak

Postby AS380 Mark Richards » 31 Jul 2012 12:36

HI Jared and welcome to AirSource.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Non-stop_flight shows a number of current and past Non-Stop flight routes.

As you can see, dominating the field are:

• Airbus A340-500
  • Boeing 777-200LR
  • Boeing 777-300ER
  • A340-600
  • B747-400ER

As Steve rightly points out, there's not too many that will travel 10,000nm or more.